I’ve Been Watching Anime for Three Years. Looking Back at my First Anime, Majimoji Rurumo

Exactly three years ago, on July 20, 2014, I started watching Majimoji Rurumo. I was browsing images on Safebooru using the witch_hat tag, because I love anime witches so much. Within the past two months, a bunch of Wadanohara images popped up due to the Wadanohara game getting really popular at the time. I was getting a lot of Marisa Kirisame and Wadanohara fanarts by searching that tag. But then I found this image, and I immediately took notice on this girl’s huge witch hat.

I wanted to see more of this girl, but due to a lack of fanart, I ended up watching the first two episodes of this anime. This decision might have not been immediately impactful, but it was the start of my anime watching phase. As time went on, I begin to see July 20, 2014 as a more significant day in my life. I later completed Majimoji Rurumo on September 25, 2014.

Fast forward to March 4, 2016. I already became a big anime fan, and I even started my old anime blog. At that time, I was vacationing in Chicago with my dad. While he was out of the hotel room, I decided to rewatch Majimoji Rurumo to see if my opinions and viewpoints on this anime have changed. It felt awkward watching this anime in a hotel room where my dad could come in at any moment. I finished rewatching it on March 17, and I still thought it was great.

Now it has been exactly three years since I’ve started watching anime. Looking back at Majimoji Rurumo today, my views on this anime are quite different. My favorite aspect about this anime is Rurumo’s design. It was her huge hat that really stands out. Plus, she’s very cute! This anime has a lot of fanservice, but most of it is standard tier fanservice that never gets intense. The story had potential, but it never came to a solid conclusion after 12 episodes. The anime still had its moments, however. The other characters were alright. The art and animation were also alright. And because this was my first anime, I really liked the soundtrack.

Sadly, Majimoji Rurumo isn’t well received, but it isn’t as poorly received as a lot of other anime. People seem to have forgotten about it nowadays. I now see it as a guilty pleasure. Every time I look back at it, I kind of feel guilty for watching this anime in the first place. But without it, I probably would have never gotten into anime. Given my love for the main female character’s design, I enjoyed this anime more than a majority of other people did.

I wanted to make this post to commemorate three years of me watching anime, and I talked about Majimoji Rurumo, the anime that started it all for me. While it’s not the best anime out there, it still holds a very special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

